Rooftop Mini Project: Techniques and Proceses

The rooftop project is about making a scene for an individual (or more) to live in that is shown as a roof space. This can be anything that a character can inhabit, or live in.

At the beginning I researched into roof areas and placed the images on Pinterest for easy image placement.  The research included: many different forms of roofs (i.e shapes and what it may be used for), visual style, layout of the area in question, and objects that may be within this space.

Then, using the research found within this subject area, I drew some reference sketches in different perspectives, and using the images found as a guide to how to draw the designs later:

Rooftop Reference Images 1

Rooftop Reference Images

After experimental drawings, I made a mind map for (like the last two mini briefs: ) getting an idea of where to take the project:

Rooftop - Brain Stormimg Roofspaces - Extra Preperation

Next were quick sketches based on inspiration from the research and my ideas from the experiencing mind-mapping:

Rooftop - Design Stage

The above image shows that, as well as planning for the final outcome, but also utilising the charcoal pencil tool as a different media than plain pencils. I found out from this that it is more difficult to draw with this utensil, as the sketch lines become thicker, but also gives me a nice sketched effect, which brings the image out more.

Rooftop - Design Stage 1Rooftop - Design Stage 2

After careful design considerations, I decided to go a little bit further with the least obvious design (meaning, the design that is more obscure to think of when looking at a project like this), because this next image shows a small roof space, not on top of a building, but of a spaceship; the peak of a rocket that is used as an observatory and a place for a character to live. This design is thought to be a moving house/building; still relating towards the brief:

Rooftop - Design Stage - Narrowing Down Designs Thumbnail

I took this design a further into photo shop as a mock concept of an environment for a game:

Rocket- RoofSpace Project PSD

I also used Photoshop for the final outcome to generate a quick and simple concept image to illustrate my game idea of a roof space, which is the tip segment of a rocket, by which a being lives inside it to view further in space than just watching the stars and planets on Earth, but other galaxies.

Reflection:

Overall the project shows a great effort for getting an idea down quick, while going through the techniques and processes of the design/creative process (by which I learned about within the games design module and put into practice for the creative futures module). As I have thought of a game concept/idea that could potentially, turn into a good. game, the project contained a successful outcome with  a successful design/creative process. However, the finished concept drawing is a messy and shown not very careful consideration for presentation. Although, the way I see this final presentation of a game idea, its main purpose is to act as a quick concept that people are able to know what my game idea is when they look at it. Where learning from my modules (games design and creative futures) is concerned, I have executed the process well, as I have followed a brief through with planning, which is a part of the techniques and processes area of media assignments.

Using Photoshop to generate quick images, is a useful and easy way to do so. The image is quite messy, however gives a nice effect. I have learned that I need to explore more through Photoshop and find different combinations for alternative art styles. This would be good for me to generate better skills on top of the knowledge I know already and create more realistic and professional images. The outlines are a bit thick and the image looks to soft. This is probably due to the fact of using larger brushes, than smaller and harder brushes to make the image look more solid thank smooth. However, the image gives the impression of what the final idea is about and delivers the overall description of the game visually and shows what he game play could entail.

Leave a comment