Gamesir G3s Gaming Controller: Android Systems, PC and PS3

First of all, I will give you an overlook at what it is I am actually reviewing:

The item in question is one of the most popular products developed by ‘GameSir’. I have been told by the ‘overseas marketing department’, a guy called Andy who commented on one of my blog posts previously, that their:”audience has overlapped in video games with us, and we are a young but fast growing game controller brand. We take seriousness in gaming experiences in Smartphones. GameSir’s game controllers are specially designed for Android Smartphones. We’ll soon find out if all of the above about the company is true, by taking a look at one of their products: G3s Gaming controller.

 

Holding the controller:

When the controller was held in my hands the first time, I automatically began thinking: “What a nice fit; it just fits nicely in my hands; the buttons are nice and big for my wide thumbs, I have perfect control feedback off both analogue sticks, the shoulder buttons feel intuitive. where is the instruction booklet? I only have a double-sided sheet that just tells me how to make the Android phone sit in the controller attachment; and WHAT ON EARTH are the ‘Turbo’ and ‘Clear’ functionalities for?! However, unlike some classic males (do not know if this is still a thing with men), I read the instructions, where this proved useful and I have learned that ‘Turbo’ is an automatic function for a rapid fire mode, instead of repeatedly tapping the same button; and the ‘Clear’ button is to exit ‘Turbo’ mode.

For a test how the another controller feels, regarding comfort, can compare to the G3s:

 

The test proves that the G3s controller is designed more appropriately for hands on gaming, whereas the PS4 controller is wider than the G3s – showing that my hands have to struggle a little bit to find comfort; unlike the G3s where I do not need to look for comfort.

TRUE FEELINGS!!

The Design:

The design is a mix match or two different controllers: PS3 and Xbox 360. I can see why as PCs utilise Xbox controllers more than any other, and PS3 gamers need to be comfortable, when gaming, instead of having to get used to a new system. The Xbox 360 side to the controller lies within the button system, where it consists, or the same pattern: A, B, X, and Y. The Playstation 3 side of the controller is the entire design of the product itself; DUH!

Using the controller:

To be honest, the controller is not the most intuitive to turn on, as it has specific button combinations in order to connect to a particular device:

Android: Hold the ‘G’ button + ‘A’

PC: Hold the ‘G’ button + ‘X’

Mac: Hold the ‘G’ button + ‘Y’

PS3: Hold the ‘G’ button + ‘Turbo’

This way of switching something on, is a method I did not know could exist, as it does not seem simple as pressing one button to set it to a specific device. The controller had to just do things differently and have this combination of different routines to remember, unless you keep looking at the instruction manual. However, once you have done the same step once; you never forget it.

Android Phones:

Playing on an Android device (AKA; Nexus 6p), and through thorough testing, the controller works very smoothly, where when steering on a racing game; the controls are really intuitive; the buttons are super responsive; the controller feels comfortable and becomes a pleasurable gaming experience; by which even inexperienced gamers can master true control.

When holding the controller whilst my phone is securely grasped by the holder, the phone really weighs my hands and the controller down, where it feels I am bending over slightly. But only because my phone has a bit of a weight to it. However, that heavy feeling vanishes whence playing; as I became immune to the weight and held the controller more upright.

PC:

When testing it out on my gaming PC, I played Dead Space 2 (epic game!!!!) and the controller responded well; I was pleased to see. The control system is identical to the Xbox 360’s: the triggers are comfortable when shooting down Necromorphs, the analogue sticks give me complete control (due to the circular grips and beveled centre); the D pad works well as could be expected; and it feels as if I am playing an Xbox on my telly.

What I found amazing on-screen (when playing a game on my PC) was how the user interface (menu systems and button guides) switched from the keyboard’s system, to the controller’s system. It just astonished me, but also leading to no surprise that it did that. The only reason why it amazed me was because the previous controller I used didn’t have this function, by which didn’t facilitate my gaming experience, unlike the G3s.

Additionally, the product does have a flaw (GASP…). The controller’s battery life indicator isn’t noticeable, despite the manual stating how to tell when the controller is about to turn off: The ‘G’ and ABXY buttons flash for 1 second. This wasn’t a minutes notice for me as, for gamers like myself, I never look at my controller when playing video games; but eyes securely fixed on what is happening on-screen (as many other players do). Because of this, I found myself seeing the character of the game I was playing die in a recurring fashion, until I managed to charge the controller. By which, is indicated with the ‘G’ and ABXY buttons flashing for 2 seconds. The controller would be better to either rumble or send a heads-up on screen (through connected device features; if that could work) to tell the player when it is time for a charge up. Instead of this mores code system.

End of Testing:

Overall, the controller is brilliant. The controller itself is the most comfortable controller I have ever held!: with precise face buttons, lightweight feel, curved design, by which just fits into my hands (as a controller should); sturdy and easy-to-use analogue stick maneuvering; none stiff D pad; and the lovely bright light feature is the special little differentiation between other controllers, makes this controller a little bit more attractive.

Similar controllers, like Sony’s PS4 controller for example, feel less comfortable, thick and heavy, after using the G3s.  When comparing the two, I automatically felt the difference and wanted to switch back the G3s; as this game pad offers a more favorable ride. However, the PS4 game pad beats this one in flexibility and low battery indications. Whereas G3s surpasses the PS4 controller with its more precise and move ability, as well as size and comfort, unlike the chunky PS4 counterpart. And, where the G3s’s trigger buttons are a bit more stiff, the Dual Shock 4 consists of more precise triggers – facilitating shooting games more than the G3s.

If the G3s offered a better way to notify the player the battery is running low, the G3s would prevail over the PS4 and other game pads by far. However, the GameSir G3s game pad is still an all round brilliant controller, great design, easy to use, and makes me want to keep playing the game and coming back for more. Excellent product, well done GameSir; I salute thee.

So, I am going to praise the G3s for consisting of an design that any gamer can pick up and play with (compatibility); how confortable it feels when holding; multi-purpose device compatibility, but could be better if the battery signal (when running flat) could let the player know on-screen (or by sound) instead of a 2 second flash – emitting from the controller’s buttons. As well as how it connects differently depending on the device being operating; could be improved for an easier experience.

I award the ‘GameSir G3s Game Controller:

3 and a Half Stars!!!!!

GOOD JOB GAMESIR!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brilliant Controller!!!

In addition to this review, I have filmed myself getting ‘hands on’ experience with the device in question. ‘ENJOY!’ 

 

Thank you for reading my review.

“For all parties who view this blog post, I am a none-biased blogger, where everything I say is 100% my true thoughts and feelings about the product in question.”

 

One thought on “Gamesir G3s Gaming Controller: Android Systems, PC and PS3

Leave a comment